Article Archive

Aquasky - Have A Good Time

Author: Dance Nova
Thursday, 6 September 2007
Breakbeat gurus Aquasky AKA Bournemouth-based production trio Dave Wallace, Brent Newitt and Keiron Bailey drop their first single in over 12 months and not ones to do things by halves, they've roped in leading Florida MC Acafool on vocals to provide us with what could potentially be THE summer anthem of 2007, the booty-tastic 'Have A Good Time' that forms the second 12" to be released from Passenger Records forthcoming mix album 'This Way Up', featuring 14 brand new and un-released tracks commissioned especially for this album and to be drum n bass legend Friction's debut in the world of breakbeat!

Aquasky first made their name as one of the most prolific production duos in the world of drum n bass. Their work throughout the 90s on labels such as Moving Shadow, R&S and Polydor helped shaped the sound of jazzy, atmospheric drum n bass. Having first got into the sound of 'nu-skool' breaks in the late 90s with seminal releases on Botchit & Scarper, the trio decided to fully get involved and single headedly spear-headed the 'bassline' breaks sound (i.e. tear-out drum n bass sounding like it is played at 33 RPM) the trio have since gone onto conquer this scene and through their productions, LPs and label: Passenger Records. Having been nominated for no less than 7 awards at this years Breakspoll Awards, both Aquasky and Passenger Records are truly at the forefront of this scene.

'Have A Good Time' does exactly what it says on the tin. Featuring Florida's leading Miami bass MC Acafool a man responsible for the shaking of more 'ass (…and quite probably 'titties' too) than your average male rapper drops 2007's essential lyric 'Face down, ass up…' alongside numerous other belters over the top of the 'Sky's tub thumping beats and bass. Drafted in on the remix are the unstoppable Sinden and The Count Of Monte Cristal (AKA Herve / Speaker Junk) and to say this duo is on fire is something of an understatement. Sinden has remixed well, everyone including Lady Sovereign, Plan B, Basement Jaxx, Mary J Blige, Bugz In the Attic, Bonde De Role, Roxanne Shante and many many (many) more whilst Herve has been equally as busy a boy notably with his and Sinden's 'Beeper', one of the anthems of early 2007 and remixes of New Young Pony Club, Roisin Murphy, Unklejam, Princess Superstar and billions more. Basically, either one of them could hold their own in a disco, but together they have absolutely mashed the remix of 'Have A Good Time' delivering a slice of UK garage-meets-Miami Bass at Fabric mix. Tough.

'This Way Up' mixed by Friction on Passenger Records (released September 24th folks!) features 14 brand new and unreleased tracks from some of the hottest talents in the world of breaks, commissioned especially for this album. Featuring new music from Tom Real and Rogue Element, Klaus Hill, Dopamine, Kid Blue, Rico Tubbs, Rob Le Pitch, Backdraft, DJ Friction and Timmy Schumacher and more, all of which will be released over the rest of 2007 as a series of 12" and digital downloads 'This Way Up' is one of the most exciting album projects in 2007. Trust.